Trying to Bake a Twilight Cake

I Was Going For This

I Was Going For This

The bar has been set pretty high for the Twilight Birthday Cake. I may have mentioned that I have never baked a cake, so I decided to practice before the big slumber party. It’s not like we will mind eating the residue!

I’ve never read Twilight or any of its three sequels, but the birthday girl, 12, is obsessed. But according to one of the covers (I know, never judge a book by its…) a chess piece or the game of chess comes into play. Maybe? Anyway, I saw a “Checkerboard Cake Pan Set” and thought “Perfect!” Chessboard, Checkerboard, whatever. So last night I practiced with the Checkerboard Cake Pan Set.

Ha ha ha ha! Talk about one’s baking reach exceeding one’s grasp. Checkerboard cake? Try tectonic plate cake by the time I was through!

I got this!

I got this!

The good news, and there is good news: I used a recipe from my trusty friend Baking Illustrated, which has never failed me. You would never guess this is my first cake, it is that delicious. Funny looking, maybe, but delicious. (If you’re wondering, the recipe was for Yellow Cake. Following the lead of the Checkerboard Cake box, I stirred some melted semi-sweet chocolate into half the batter so I could have the “Checkerboard” effect.) I only went with two layers, instead of three. Harriet is leaving for the weekend, and I figured we’d have a hard enough time polishing off a two-layer cake. If I’d just left well enough alone and baked a two-layer yellow cake, it would have been perfect (better, actually), and that’s probably what I will do when I move on to step two of practicing the Twilight Cake.

Next Step: Decorating a Twilight Cake. I have some black and red sugar (key to the vampire theme). I have some apples (also gleaned from a book cover). Do the apples have something to do with virgins and the heroine and the vampire? Do I want to know?

Stay tuned for more Twilight Cake fun.

By the way, the fact that I’m including these photos is in no way meant to cast aspersions on the Checkerboard Cake set. Maybe my batter was too thin? It all looked good going in the oven. And I did only fill the pans half-way as instructed. But as you can see, things went awry.

4 responses to “Trying to Bake a Twilight Cake

  1. Hey, I just found your blog! It’s great. I’m interested because while I like to cook, I’m definitely NOT a baker. Maybe because I’m not interested in desserts that much, and would rather have a really good meal. Anyway, glad I found you. I’ll read on!

  2. Elizabeth Edwardsen

    Welcome, Amy –
    I’ll warn you, I wasn’t a baker, either (obviously!) but love to cook. Once you start learning how to bake bread (part of every really good meal), you’ll never go back. There is a huge sense of accomplishment when you take a hot loaf of bread out of the oven – and your kitchen smells great.

  3. Pingback: The Twilight Cake « Learning to Bake

  4. How is that a Twilight cake????? Gosh you people are no help to me! AHHHH

Leave a Reply

