Chocolate Chip Cookies, v3

img_6853No baking mistakes to amuse you with this batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies. Just a batch of really yummy Chocolate Chip Cookies that smelled so good I locked the dogs out of the kitchen. Only Sparkle and Betty (the Bettas, they are officially males, but we’ve given all our Bettas female names – they’re such pretty fish) were permitted to attend the photo shoot.

I used the Baking Illustrated recipe for Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. It worked so well last time (that would be my Chocolate Chip Cookies v2, in which I followed the recipe), it would be hard to try a new one. I like this recipe because it calls for melted and cooled butter — as opposed to room temperature butter. So if someone, ahem, forgets to take the butter out of the fridge so it’s nicely room temp, all is well.

This time I added chopped pecans. My only complaint about these cookies is they don’t stick around very long. The recipe made 24 large, soft, melt-in-your-mouth cookies that made my entire downstairs smell like the Oompa Loompas’ river was running by the house. Honestly, do you think these are going to stay in the cookie jar long? No, I didn’t think so.

One of my blog visitors may recognize this little silver dish from a Christmas many years ago. Thanks again, MRS!

3 responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies, v3

  1. Pingback: Lace Cookies v2 « Learning to Bake

  2. They look like Freihofer’s. This is a compliment, and adding nuts to Feihoffer’s would be the ultimate cookie.

  3. Elizabeth Edwardsen

    No one can replicate Freihofer’s. sigh.
    Freihofer’s Chocolate Chip Cookies are little and chewy and SO good you can eat a box in a sitting. Not that I’ve ever done such a thing.

Leave a Reply

