Rice Krispies Treats

I veered off the occasionally bumpy path of learning to bake delicious grown-up baked goods like fancy cookies and artisanal breads this week by learning to bake make Rice Krispies Treats.

Why? My daughter volunteered me. It all has something to do with a Sixth Grade public service project and a bake sale, but I don’t know the details.

The recipe for Rice Krispies Treats is on the box, and the ingredient list is short — Rice Krispies, Marshmallows, Butter. (You can use margarine, but I went with butter. You know why.)

Making Rice Krispies Treats is easy: melt the butter, melt the marshmallows, turn off the heat, stir in the cereal, pour it in an oiled pan, smooth this sticky concoction, wait for it to set. Snap, Crackle, Pop! Done.

One of our favorite cafes in Portland, Aurora Provisions, elevates the Rice Krispies Treat by adding a layer of ganache in its middle. I briefly considered taking this extra step, or perhaps drizzling some chocolate swirls on top. But these were not my marching orders, and I decided the wisest course was to do exactly what Harriet told me to do and skip any embellishments (even if it would have made these RKTs taste so much better).

Should I ever make Rice Krispies Treats again, I know I’m going to dress them up with some chocolate. Also – as I was watching Harriet stir a pot of marshmallows, waiting for them to melt into the melted butter, I thought “next time we should cut the marshmallows in half. Or use mini marshmallows.”  (I also thought, “We could make our own marshmallows!” Then I thought, “Why? I don’t like marshmallows.”

Life is too short to cook things you don’t like – which is why I never tasted Brussel Sprouts until I went to college (not a favorite of Mom’s, I guess) and why I’ll never bake with dates again. Then again, I can’t say I’m a fan of Rice Krispies Treats, and look what I did.

5 responses to “Rice Krispies Treats

  1. Peanut butter and chocolate frosting make a great addition.

  2. Rice Krispies Treats are eternal. They have staying power. My address remains available if you are in a mood to ship.

  3. thesisterproject

    Too funny. We just made out first batch over the holidays for a first annual New Year Sleepover for the teenagers we love. What I learned was that when the recipe states that fresh marshmallows re preferred, they’re right. While our marshmallows (probably eight years old in the cupboard) did work, eventually melting, they did not have the consistency I remember from making these, ah, hmmm, 30 years ago. But then again, what does? Ah, life lesson here, I guess, that nothing is ever quite the same in real time, though I prefer your wonderful simple reminder that life is too short to make things you don’t like. That being the case, I’m thinking chocolate is indeed the needed ingredient here.

  4. Elizabeth Edwardsen

    Marty –
    Once I actually get myself organized enough to bake, package and mail something to Wisconsin, you can bet it will be better than RKTs! (Although they certainly would survive the post.)

  5. Elizabeth Edwardsen

    Sister –
    Our marshmallows were Brand New and they took forever to melt and were not the smoothest thing I’d ever seen… but since I had a deprived childhood I have no memories of RKTs. Tomato Aspic? Yes. Beef Consomme? Yes. RKTs? No. I’m thinking next time – Fluff? (And chocolate, of course.)

Leave a Reply

