I Baked Ciabatta!

I am now officially a Bread Baker! Maybe I’m a Bread Baker’s Apprentice because I used Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice: Mastering the Art of Extraordinary Bread (a Christmas gift from my daughter – thanks, Harriet!) to bake this Ciabatta.

The crust has just the right amount of crispness, the inside is tender and holey (is that a word? you know what I mean) and it tastes good. I’ve impressed myself, that’s for sure! Makes me wish I was having a dinner party. Of course, I didn’t cook anything else or clean the house….

There were lots of personal firsts in this Ciabatta Baking project:

– first time using a “pre-ferment” – in this case the wet sponge Poolish

– first time using a couche (although I didn’t have one so I made my own with a white linen dish cloth, spray oil and flour) to hold the rising loaves

– first time using the dough hook on my KitchenAid mixer, which I have owned for 20 years. It’s a miracle I actually found the dough hook. Hey, I’m learning to bake.

– first time I used steam while baking (this involved spraying the hot oven with water and pouring hot water in a cast iron skillet in a really hot oven when the loaves first went in, then reducing the temperature).

One response to “I Baked Ciabatta!

  1. Pingback: Baking Bread « Learning to Bake

Leave a Reply

