Chocolate Mint Cookies

Oh, man these are so good I still can’t believe I baked them! I feel like a Keebler Elf — if the Keebler Elves worked at a very, very high-end tree in Paris.

Here are the details. They are Chocolate-Mint Thumbprints  from the December 2008/January 2009 issue of Fine Cooking. You begin by baking really good chocolate cookies with Dutch-processed cocoa (I’ll blog about Droste cocoa soon; it’s interesting!) and let it cool for close to an hour so you can roll it into balls. Meanwhile, you melt chocolate and butter, add some Peppermint Extract, and then let that cool. (If you’re thinking these cookies sound a bit time-consuming, you’d be right.) My only problem was that when I made the “thumbprints,” I cracked the cookies, so I went with fairly shallow thumbprints and my “filling” is more of a dollop topping. But they still look good and taste wonderful. Definitely tea with the queen type treats. This recipe was contributed to Fine Cooking by the pastry chef and co-owner of One Girl Cookies bakery in Brooklyn. Next time I’m down there, I’m definitely going in to sample some cookies. His Chocolate-Mint Thumbprints looked better than mine, but he does own a cookie bakery.

Oooh, not only did I get to use Droste Cocoa, but I got to break out my new sifter for this recipe – twice! Thanks, Harriet!

4 responses to “Chocolate Mint Cookies

  1. Elizabeth Edwardsen

    An addendum: I gave some of these cookies to a good friend and neighbor. She co-owns the wonderful Slates Bakery in Hallowell, Maine, so she knows her cookies. She loved them and commented that the cookie part (as opposed to the filling part) was like a chocolate shortbread. A perfect description.

  2. I bet these ship well. Let me know if you need my address.

  3. Marty –
    Wrong tense. They would have shipped well.
    Actually, the filling was pretty soft. The cookie part would have shipped well. The filling would have smooshed. I only wish I knew how to mail an incredible birthday cake from Maine to Wisconsin…

  4. Pingback: Droste Dutch Process Cocoa « Learning to Bake

Leave a Reply

