Date Nut Bread Disaster

This yucky-looking date nut bread was inspired by a magazine spread I read in a pediatrician’s waiting room. Needless to say, the photo that ran with the recipe didn’t look anything like my date nut bread, which was fit for neither man nor beast. (More on that later.)

The photo was taken a day after I baked the date nut bread. When it first came out of the oven it was more …. cakey. But then I think the dry part soaked up the wet part and I was left with a heavy sodden sponge. The good news is by that time I had figured out that I don’t like dates. I suspected this after opening them. Then I told my sister what I was baking and she said, “We don’t like dates. No one in our family likes dates.”

I sallied on (I aready had the dates) and offered the first slice to my 11-year-old daughter. Not even the over-generous serving of whipped cream on top could tempt her to take one bite. “I don’t like dates,” she said, waving the dish away in a “talk to the hand” gesture. I left the date nut bread on the counter the next day, to record its amazing sponge-like capacity, and forgot to put it out of dog’s eye view. A few hours later I found the entire loaf on the kitchen floor. This means that a nosy standard poodle removed the cake from the counter and then turned his nose up at it. And trust me, I know which one it was — and he is not picky. (Incidentally, it’s a great thing he didn’t like the cake since it contains walnuts, which are very bad for dogs.)

I compared the magazine recipe with some from my favorite cookbooks, and there are some differences. But I’m not going to sweat it. I’ll never attempt it again – no one in my family, not even the dog, likes date nut bread.

4 responses to “Date Nut Bread Disaster

  1. Pingback: Apple Cake « Learning to Bake

  2. Pingback: A Gift of Banana Nut Bread « Learning to Bake

  3. Pingback: Coffeecake Collapse « Learning to Bake

Leave a Reply

