A Very Handy Baking Gadget

img_6716

What’s the opposite of idiot savant? That’s me with the digital timer on my stove. Other people probably have no problem setting their stove timer, but my track record with this thing is Not Good. The timer’s minutes race by, then turn into 10-minute increments, then I think I’m supposed to touch another button – but that might be the clock, not the timer…. It’s an invitation to burnt baked goods.

Timer ineptitude doesn’t matter terribly much when roasting vegetables or cooking a turkey once a year. But minutes do matter, it seems, when baking. I saw this idiot-proof timer at the hardware store for $1.99. (Perhaps idiot is the opposite of idiot savant, sigh, I was hoping for something more … French.)

It’s easy to set. Turn the knob, you’re done. (Actually, you have to turn it to 30 and then back to the minutes you need, but even I can handle that.) My only complaint is that the alarm, while pleasant and jingly, is fairly short – so if I’m not in the kitchen when it goes off, I miss it.  I’ve been stuffing it in my pocket. What I really need is an idiot-proof timer I can wear around my neck. Anyone seen one of those?

You know – this could change my life. I could give myself time to do all kinds of things with a timer around my neck. I could turn into one of those FlyLady people who spend 15 minutes at a time cleaning. But the pendant timer has to have a dial. I’m hopeless with digital clocks. (My bedside alarm goes off daily at 6 am, even on weekends; I don’t dare futz with it.)

Leave a Reply

