Cool Kitchen Gadgets

I love gadgets. I’m all for anything that will make my life easier. When it comes to baking, I can see that a few gadgets might come in handy.

Here are two things I’ve come across that look handy. I don’t own them, but I wish I did.

First – the Edge Brownie Pan. Imagine, an edge on every brownie! Enough said.

Next – the SideSwipe Spatula Mixer Blade. It would eliminate that step where I have to scrape down the sides of my KitchenAid bowl with a spatula, because the mixer blade has silicone fins that keep the sides of the bowl clean. There’s a manufacturer video at the top of this post. Very cool.

Now that I’m heading into serious baking territory, I can see how useful it would be to have an extra bowl for the stand mixer. That may not fall into Gadget territory, but it’s definitely on my wishlist.

5 responses to “Cool Kitchen Gadgets

  1. thesisterproject

    In this season of resolutions, my first is to learn to use – and not merely fear – my mandoline. My CSA farm pick-up for Thanksgiving included two celeriac heads. Undaunted, I’ve gotten out the Julia Childs’ recipe for remoulade and I’m girding myself for battle. Wish me luck.

  2. thesisterproject

    p.s. I pushed the button too soon. I was going to ask: what can my mandoline do for baking? Anything?

  3. sister,
    every time a cooking supply catalog arrives (and that would include the half dozen that arrived yesterday) I stare at the mandolines and think “I would use that, I’m sure I would….” but I have a feeling the mandoline wouldn’t get much use around here. I love to slice with my knife, and when a lot of thin slices are required, the Cuisinart, while probably not as good, probably suffices.
    As for baking — I’m not entirely sure, but maybe with making savory tarts or doing something wonderful with ginger or apples? Anyone? I may have to research this so I can justify getting one!
    Good luck with that resolution! That is among the coolest of kitchen gadgets!
    Elizabeth

  4. I’ve droolingly eyed the Edge Brownie Pan for more than a year now. But do I dare bring it into my kitchen? Get thee behind me Brownie Satan!

  5. Yeah, that’s the problem with the Edge Pan – no excuse to stop eating the Brownies. I still want one. And you can use your Home-Made Vanilla in the brownies. I used Mark Bittman’s Brownie recipe for my first not-from-a-box Brownies and they were fantastic. Even the ones in the middle.

Leave a Reply

